Planetcaveman's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Reason #6,427 why Hollywood sucks

They seem to think it’s better to have a bad cast than a good story.

Recently I saw Terminator 4, excuse me, Terminator: Rise of the Machines, and while it was neat seeing Terminators and humans playing war for 90 minutes the movie really didn’t impact me at all, in contrast to Terminator 1 and 2, which were gripping and awesome (I try to pretend they never made the 3rd one).

For starters, I’m tired of Christian Bale, granted, he’s not nearly as played out as most Hollywood cardboard cutouts (Ben Affleck, Demi Moore, Will Ferrell, etc) but I have a tough time looking at him and thinking “John Connor”, I see Bruce Wayne/Batman who just had an absolute conniption when a set worker was just doing his job by adjusting the lighting when Bale was rehearsing.

Then we have Anton Yelchin who played a young Kyle Reese, sorry but I’m just not buying this one, he doesn’t seem like a hardened survivor in the slightest though part of that might be due to the producers insisting that he look like he was just at the mall drinking a latte as opposed to being nearly starved in a post-apocalyptic warzone, and to make matters even worse they just HAVE to make him recycle that over-used “come with me if you want to live” line, oh, and be sure to throw in a token black kid for diversity.

If I was making the movie I’d call the guy that played Reese in the first movie and ask him if he has any sons in the age range for the charachter, it turns out that Michael Beihn has 3 sons that would work as far as the age goes.

In general I think using actors that aren’t well known is a smart idea, not only can you hire them for reasonable money, which enables you to spend more money on excellent writers who can write a…um…what’s the word.., Oh yeah, a STORY, but it also allows the viewer to more easily get into the story because they see the actor as that character instead of ‘that guy from the other movie’.  So, back to the main charachter, instead of Christian Bale I nominate James Caviezel.  He was downright biblical as Jesus in “Passion of the Christ” and was also excellent in “The Count of Monte Cristo” (a criminally underrated movie).

I'd destroy Christian Bale before he even knew he was in a fight

I'd destroy Christian Bale before he even knew he was in a fight

Now THAT’S a John Connor I’d root for.  Right now Hollywood is bombarding us with overpaid, under-talented douchebags who wouldn’t know real acting if it crawled up their cocaine crusted nose.  We can only hope that more movies are going to be produced by non-establishment companies and that might even go direct to internet (theaters suck anyway).

September 9, 2009 - Posted by | Uncategorized

2 Comments »

  1. I’m not sure how Hollywood makes any money anyway. Who watches these steaming piles of cinema? If you want great film sometime you have to look in the bargin bin at Walmart. “Once Upon a Time in the West” with Henry Fonda and Charles Bronson is one of my favorites. Most television shows I enjoy get cancelled before thier time. Kings on NBC with Ian McShane (one of the best actors of our time) barely made it the whole first season. Deadwood was cancelled as well after HBO dropped the resigning the cast. I do get pleasently surprised by unknowns stories and actors and dissappointed by blockbusters quite often, maybe our expectations are to high going in?

    Comment by naannook | September 10, 2009 | Reply

  2. Agreed, if the stuff started going direct to internet we’d see some interesting things happen, we can only hope market pressure will push things in that direction.

    Take this movie for instance,

    Ok, it looks kinda cool but one of the first things that came to mind was “oh, Anthony Hopkins, that’s Benicio Del Toro, and that’s agent Smith”. While I like Hopkins and Hugo Weaving I’d much rather see new faces.

    So, in place of Hopkins I nominate Derek Jacobi from Gladiator, he’s an accomplished actor who is British and can easily pull off being an upper crust recluse.

    In place of Del Toro I nominate Henry Cavill of “The Tudors”

    In place of Weaving I nominate James Frain of “The Count of Monte Cristo”

    Ok, I have now cut the casting budget by 2/3 and that took all of 5 minutes. Part of the problem is that many people don’t think people will show up and buy tickets unless you have a big name actor headlining the movie. I know I would prefer it that way but it’s sometimes tough for me to put myself in the mind of your average guy on the street.

    Comment by planetcaveman | September 11, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

